Fall Colors and Colorful mind

Now a days, Seattle area is becoming more and more colorful. Its paradise here! While walking on the road on Saturday afternoon; I feel like my mind is not yet stable and I need more practice to keep it controlled and focused.

I have started mediation time to time in a day. In order to control that I am following few steps.

Finding quite time and place

https://www.flickr.com/photos/geist-ist-geil/6278853637/in/photolist-ayQLrc-5nJXUq-6PCSWi-5tnxa9-dW23WF-4BJLSa-6Zhq2k-8W4ooQ-6fXCch-4M9V5H-dDdYZV-8A5sWW-ojVT4A-9w6uRP-vZ42iC-cmt7Ab-6grQrG-dwC7KQ-oyf7Dc-oxYKCh-5sFz9C-5TF4VJ-4NCwtk-4s5H6X-5sWjEN-5j5Sfa-crBkYS-q26aob-7KGKp3-7bD2P4-5BoB2S-6y6AFv-tUbUwQ-oJKVDN-7tfprw-na6RYj-6SjQgw-FiGeT-dC6Aiu-7EsnKq-6ULm3F-61vwCZ-ec535o-8Kns9z-ic9kqi-fEkYin-x3esi7-7uDnsP-9az9V1-aRiF2X

Being not disturbed during meditation is time very much important. So finding such place is very important first step. It could be besides your office, or at your office (locking doors and posting DO NOT DISTURB SIGN if required) or at your bedroom or kitchen or nearby park or library..anywhere you feel no body will bother you.

Turning off distraction

Make sure to turn off all internet notifications. It can wait for few min. Otherwise I will be thinking whose message I got, what image/message/news I have got..just shut up those things for few min.

Setting up timer

timer

Determine how long you are going to do this. And set up timer accordingly. Reason behind setting up timer is you will know that i have set up timer and it will ring after that. I don’t have to break meditation in between to see; how long I am sitting at same place.

Just breathing

Once you all set; this what you need to do. Just breath and relax. Let you thoughts come. Whatever it may be. Hatred, Happy, Scary, Fearful, Blaming, Jealousy, Motivating, Earning Money, Becoming Reach, Poor, etc.. Let your mind free from those buried things. Observe each thought carefully and identify which sensation it is giving, either pleasing or bad. Which mind state caused such thought to arise.

After few minutes I was feeling like I should move my legs and get some walk. But I was so determined to sit still for assigned time and keep breathing naturally. Observing my breath, sensation and thoughts.

Reason behind mediation

While meditating I can easily observe my mind is jumping from one thought to another. If I behave like that in real life; I will be called “mad”. Seriously. I feel, Purpose of mediation is

1> To control my mind and develop skill to observe thoughts: this is important in real life to react to any situation. E.g. I was short-tempered. But with the practice of meditation I realized my short-tempered thoughts and I never get angry immediately..

2> Let go thoughts: There is time when we get lost in dreams that we really wanted. E.g. dream of being rich and spending money on cars. I know that, this is not the fact and i should not indulge myself into such thoughts. So, I learned to let go of such thoughts.

3> Removing stress: Sometimes, I feel, I have not achieved enough at work or not achieved in my life so far. I have wasted much time. Such thoughts make me feel unhappy and sucks my whole energy. These thoughts creat stress and de-motivates me. But, with the practice of meditation I am feeling; i am removing such stress. I am feeling productive at office.

4> Emotional control: Thoughts in our mind making us emotional. Emotion is nothing but the reaction to our thought. Removing negative emotions or letting go negative emotions is important learning out of the meditation.

5> Other Benefits: You will find many more benefits of meditation. I am not that medical expert to give you complete list. But yes, with the meditation i feel i have improved my mental health (like focus, optimism) which in turn helped to improve my physical health also. Other reference

I recommend to develop this habbit of meditation…!

Leave a comment